EFL Championship Stadiums

EFL Championship Stadiums - League Logo

Formerly known as Division 1, the English Football League Championship, is the second-highest division in the English football league system and offers unpredictable, competitive matches and is a pivotal part of English football. 24 teams that engage in a gruelling 46-match season with clubs battling for the coveted top-two spots to secure automatic promotion or contending for a place in the playoffs. You can read more about EFL championship stadiums currently in use below.

EFL Championship Stadiums 23/24 Season

Birmingham CitySt AndrewsBirmingham29,409
Blackburn RoversEwood ParkBlackburn31,367
Bristol CityAshton GateBristol27,000
Cardiff CityCardiff City StadiumCardiff33,280
Coventry CityCoventry Building Society ArenaCoventry32,609
Huddersfield TownJohn Smith’s StadiumHuddersfield24,500
Hull CityMKM StadiumHull25,400
Ipswich TownPortman RoadIpswich30,311
Leeds UnitedElland RoadLeeds37,792
Leicester CityKing Power StadiumLeicester32,312
MiddlesbroughThe Riverside StadiumMiddlesbrough34,988
MillwallThe DenLondon20,146
Norwich CityCarrow RoadNorwich27,244
Plymouth ArgyleHome ParkPlymouth16,388
Preston North EndDeepdalePreston23,404
Queens Park RangersLoftus RoadLondon18,439
Rotherham UnitedNew York StadiumRotherham12,021
Sheffield WednesdayHillsboroughSheffield39,752
SouthamptonSt Mary’s StadiumSouthampton32,505
Stoke Citybet365 StadiumStoke30,089
SunderlandThe Stadium of LightSunderland49,000
Swansea CityLiberty StadiumSwansea21,088
WatfordVicarage RoadWatford22,200
West Bromwich AlbionThe HawthornsWest Bromwich26,850

EFL Championship Stats

Number of Teams24
Average Match Attendance (22/23 Season)22,795
Number of Players in the League (23/24 Season)653
Number of Nationalities Represented70
Global Revenue (21/22 Season)£676m

Championship Recent Winners

YearWinner (# Total Wins)Runner UpPlay-Off Winners
2022/23Burnley (4)Sheffield UnitedLuton Town
2021/22Fulham (3)BournemouthNottingham Forest
2020/21Norwich City (5)WatfordBrentford
2019/20Leeds United (4)West Bromwich AlbionFulham
2018/19Norwich City (4)Sheffield UnitedAston Villa
2017/18Wolverhampton Wanderers (4)Cardiff CityFulham
2016/17Newcastle United (4)Brighton & Hove AlbionHuddersfield Town
2015/16Burnley (3)MiddlesbroughHull City
2014/15BournemouthWatfordNorwich City
2013/14Leicester City (7)BurnleyQueens Park Rangers
2012/13Cardiff CityHull CityCrystal Palace
2011/12Reading (2)SouthamptonWest Ham United
2010/11Queens Park Rangers (2)Norwich CitySwansea City
2009/10Newcastle United (3)West Bromwich AlbionBlackpool
2008/09Wolverhampton Wanderers (3)Birmingham CityBurnley
2007/08West Bromwich Albion (3)Stoke CityHull City
2006/07Sunderland (5)Birmingham CityDerby County
2005/06ReadingSheffield UnitedWatford
2004/05Sunderland (4)Wigan AthleticWest Ham United